BOSTON SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA ANNOUNCES 2016-17 SEASON

BOSTON SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA ANNOUNCES LANDMARK 2016-17 SEASON INCLUDING A MAJOR NEW APPOINTMENT TO ITS LEADERSHIP ROSTER, AND 14 ANDRIS NELSONS-LED PROGRAMS OF WIDE-RANGING BREADTH-SHOWCASING THREE CHORAL MASTERPIECES, A FULL CONCERT OPERA PRESENTATION, AND PREMIERES BY BOTH YOUNG AMERICAN COMPOSERS AND MAJOR FIGURES OF OUR TIME-ALONG WITH AN INTERNATIONAL ROSTER OF MANY OF THE LEADING CONDUCTORS, VOCALISTS, AND INSTRUMENTALISTS PERFORMING TODAY, AND AN IMPRESSIVE ARRAY OF SYMPHONIC WORKS, INCLUDING A CONTINUATION OF THE BSO'S GRAMMY AWARD-WINNING SHOSTAKOVICH RECORDING AND PERFORMANCE CYCLE IN CONJUNCTION WITH DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON.

 

QUOTE FROM ANDRIS NELSONS:

"I feel a great sense of excitement and anticipation about next year's Boston Symphony Orchestra programs, which I think stand out as something quite special, quite extraordinary," said BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons.  "To start, it is so thrilling to celebrate a new chapter in the BSO's remarkable history with the appointment of Thomas Adès as the BSO's first-ever Artistic Partner, and we all truly look forward to warmly welcoming him as a treasured member of the BSO family."

"In addition to the Thomas Adès appointment, I am so looking forward to Bach's B Minor Mass, the masterpiece requiems of Brahms and Mozart, the concert opera presentation of Strauss's Der Rosenkavalier, the continuation of our Grammy award-winning Shostakovich project with Deutsche Grammophon, new and recent works by geniuses of the past and present, and a lineup of guest artists far too long and impressive to single out any one individual without feeling the need to mention them all.  Together, all these elements and more create an atmosphere of music-making that deeply inspires the orchestra and me to do our very best to give our loyal and passionate audiences performances that will bring inspiration and uplift into their lives.  It will be wonderful to share the many outstanding programs of the 2016-17 season with all of those who love the incredible Boston Symphony Orchestra." 

Upcoming Events

Saturday, September 24, 6 p.m.

Opening Night

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Lang Lang, piano

SHOSTAKOVIC H Festive Overture

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3

MUSSORGSKY (orch. RAVEL) Pictures at an Exhibition

 

Thursday, September 29, 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 1, 7 p.m.

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Re née Fleming, soprano (Marschallin) Erin Morley, soprano** (Sophie)

Susan Graham, mezzo-­‐soprano (Octavian) Franz Hawlata, bass* (Baron Ochs)

Alan Opie, baritone (Faninal)

Irmgard Vilsmaier, soprano * (Marianne) Michelle Trainor, soprano* (Milliner) Jane Henschel, mezzo-­‐soprano (Annina) Graham Clark, tenor* (Valzacchi)

Stephen Costello, tenor * (Italian Singer)

David Cangelosi, tenor (Marschallin’s Majordomo) Neal Ferreira, tenor* (Animal Seller)

John McVeigh, tenor* (Landlord)

David Kravitz, baritone (Notary)

David Cushing, bass* (Police Officer) Ta nglewood Festival Chorus

Children’s Chorus

STRAUSS Der Rosenkavalier

Complete concert performance with two intermissions, sung in German with English supertitles

 

Friday, September 30 (Casual Fridays)

Andris Nelsons, conductor

SHOSTAKOV I C H Festive Overture

MUSSORGSKY (orch. RAVEL) Pictures at an Exhibition

 

Thursday, October 6

Friday, October 7, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 8

Andris Nelsons, conductor Y

efim Bronfman, piano

Camilla Tilling, soprano

Thomas Hampson, baritone

Tanglewood Festival Chorus

Jörg WIDMANN Trauermarsch, for piano and orchestra BRAHMS A German Requiem

 

Thursday, October 13

Friday, October 14, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 15

Jakub Hrůša, conductor*

Frank Peter Zimmermann, violin

SMETANA Šárka, from Ma Vlást

BARTÓK Violin Concerto No. 2

MUSSORGSKY Night on Bald Mountain

JANÁČEK Taras Bulba, Rhapsody for Orchestra

 

Thursday, October 20, 10:30 a.m.

(High School Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, October 20

Friday, October 21, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 22

Tuesday, October 25

Charles Dutoit, conductor

Yo-­‐Yo Ma, cello

Women of the Tanglewood Festival Chorus

WALTON Portsmouth Point Overture

ELGAR Cello Concerto

HOLST The Planets

 

Thursday, October 27

Friday, October 28, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 29

Charles Dutoit, conductor

Ildikó Komlósi, mezzo -­‐soprano* (Judith)

Matthias Goerne, baritone (Bluebeard)

MOZART Symphony No. 39

BARTÓK Bluebeard’s Castle

Sung in Hungarian with English supertitles

 

Thursday, November 3, 10:30 a.m.

(High School Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, November 3

Friday, November 4, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 5

Thomas Adès, conductor

Christianne Stotijn, mezzo-­‐soprano

Mark Stone, baritone*

BRITTEN Sinfonia da Requiem

SIBELIUS Tapiola

Thomas ADÈS Totentanz, for mezzo-­‐soprano, baritone, and orchestra

 

Tuesday, November 8

Thursday, November 10

Friday, November 11, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 12

Andris Nelsons, conductor H é lè ne Grimaud, piano

Eric NATHAN New work

(world premiere; BSO commission)

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1

BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 (November 8 & 10)

BRAHMS Symphony No. 2 (November 11 & 12)

 

Tuesday, November 15

Thursday, November 17

Friday, November 18

Saturday, November 19

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Hélène Grimaud, piano

Timo ANDRES New work

(world premiere; BSO commission)

B RA H M S Piano Concerto No. 2

B RA HMS Symphony No. 3 (November 15 & 17)
B RA HMS Symphony No. 4 (November 18 & 19)

 

Tuesday, November 22

Friday, November 25, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 26

Moritz Gnann, conductor**

Menahem Pressler, piano

MENDELSSOHN Overture, The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave)

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 27 in B-­‐flat, K.595

DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, From the New World

 

Thursday, January 5

Friday, January 6, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 7

Ken-­‐David Masur, conductor

Cynthia Meyers, piccolo

William R. Hudgins and Michael Wayne, clarinets Thomas Rolfs, trumpet

Toby Oft, trombone

James Sommerville, Michael Winter,

Rachel Childers, and Jason Snider, horns

VIVALD I Piccolo Concerto in C, RV 433

KROMMER Concerto No. 2 for two clarinets and orchestra, Op. 91

JOLIVET Concertino for trumpet, piano, and strings

ROTA Trombone Concerto

SCHUMANN Concert Piece for four horns and orchestra

 

Thursday, January 12, 10:30 a.m. (Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, January 12

Friday, January 13, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 14

Bramwell Tovey, conductor

Cameron Carpenter, organ**

BARBER Toccata Festiva

Terry RILEY At the Royal Majestic, for organ and orchestra E LGAR Enigma Variations

 

Thursday, January 19

Friday, January 20, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 21

Tuesday, January 24

Juanjo Mena, conductor

Gido n Kremer, violin

PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1, Classical

WEINBERG Violin Concerto (1959)

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

 

Thursday, January 26

Friday, January 27, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 28

Christoph von Dohnányi, conductor

Jean-­‐Frédéric Neuburger, piano* Julian ANDERSON New work

(American premiere; BSO co-­‐commission)

SCHUMANN Piano Concerto

SCHUBERT Symphony in C, The Great

 

Thursday, February 2

Friday, February 3

Saturday, February 4

Tuesday, February 7

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Malin Christensson, soprano*

Christine Rice, mezzo -­‐soprano*

Benjamin Bruns, tenor*

Hanno Müller-­‐Brachmann, bass-­‐baritone

Tanglewood Festival Chorus

J. S. BACH Mass in B minor

 

Thursday, February 9

Friday, February 10 (Casual Fridays)

Saturday, February 11

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Bejun Mehta, countertenor*

Lorelei Ensemble,*

Beth Willer, artistic director

RAVEL Le Tombeau de Couperin (February 9 & 11) BENJAMIN Dream of the Song (BSO co-­‐commission) B E R LI OZ Symphonie

 

Tuesday February 14

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Emanuel Ax, piano

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 2 BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

 

Thursday, February 16

Friday, February 17, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 18

Tuesday, February 21

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Emanuel Ax, piano

SCHULLER Seven Studies on Themes of Paul Klee MOZART Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-­‐flat, K.482 BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3, Eroica

 

Thursday, February 23

Friday, February 24, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 25

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Baiba Skride, violin

Harriet Krijgh, cello*

Elsbeth Moser, bayan*

Sofia GUBAIDULINA Triple Concerto for violin, cello, and bayan (American premiere; BSO co-­‐commission) S H O STA KOV I C H Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

 

Friday, March 10, 1:30 p.m. Saturday, March 11

Sakari Oramo, conductor Kiri ll Gerstein, piano

Men of the Tanglewood Festival Chorus

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 3

BUSONI Piano Concerto

 

Thursday March 16

Friday, March 17

Saturday, March 18

Tuesday, March 21

Bernard Haitink, conductor

Women of the Tanglewood Festival Chorus

HAYDN Symphony No. 60, Il distratto

DEBUSSY Nocturnes BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

 

Thursday, March 23, 10:30 a.m. (Open Rehearsal) Thursday, March 23

Friday, March 24, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 25

François-­‐Xavier Roth, conductor

Alisa Weilerstein, cello

BERLIOZ Le Corsaire Overture

Matthias PINTSCHER Cello Concerto

(world premiere; BSO co-­‐commission)

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 6, Pastoral

 

Thursday, March 30

Friday, March 31 (Casual Fridays)

Saturday, April 1

Alain Altinoglu, conductor*

Renaud Capuçon, violin

BERLIOZ Roman Carnival Overture

LALO Symphonie espagnole, for violin and orchestra

DUTILLEU X Symphony No. 2, Le Double (March 30 & April 1)

ROUSSEL Bacchus et Ariane, Suite No. 2

 

Thursday, April 13, 10:30 a.m.

(High School Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, April 13

Friday, April 14, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 15

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Mitsuko Uchida, piano

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466

BRUCKNER Symphony No. 6

 

Thursday, April 20, 10:30 a.m. (Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, April 20

Friday, April 21, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 22

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Radu Lupu, piano

Lucy Crowe, soprano**

Tamara Mumford, mezzo -­‐soprano**

Ben Johnson, tenor * Morris Robinson, bass**

Tanglewood Festival Chorus

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K.491 MOZART Requiem

 

Thursday, April 27

Friday, April 28 (non-­‐subscription concert)

Saturday, April 29 Tuesday, May 2

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Anne-­‐Sophie Mutter, violin

TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto

TAKEMITSU Nostalghia (In Memory of Andrei Tarkovskij), for violin and strings

SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 6

 

Thursday, May 4, 10:30 a.m. (Open Rehearsal)

Thursday, May 4

Friday, May 5, 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 6

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

Kristine Opolais, soprano

SHOSTAKOVIC H Suite from incidental music to King Lear

RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 4

MAHLER Symphony No. 4

 

Special Recital Performance

New England Conservatory of Music’s Jordan Hall
30 Gainsborough St., Boston
Presented in association with the Celebrity Series of Boston

Friday, October 28, 8 p.m.

Ian Bostridge, tenor Thomas Adès, piano SCHUBERT Winterreise

Boston Symphony Chamber Players 2015-­‐16 season programs

New England Conservatory of Music’s Jordan Hall
30 Gainsborough St., Boston

Sunday, October 30, 3 p.m.

with Thomas Adès

BRITTEN Sinfonietta for winds and strings, Op. 1

ADÈS Court Studies from The Tempest, for clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

SCHUBERT Quintet in A for piano and strings, D.667, Trout

Sunday, January 22, 3 p.m.

Music of LERDAHL, CROZIER, and BRAHMS

Sunday, April 2 3 p.m.

ALL-­‐FRENCH PROGRAM

Music of TAFFANEL, SAINT-­‐SAËNS, and FRANÇAIX

Sunday, May 7, 3 p.m.

ALL-­‐RUSSIAN PROGRAM

Music of STRAVINSKY and SHOSTAKOVICH